I'm a noob - Help me think out the numbers on this chest freezer

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pleasant Travels

Reaction score
What/how many batteries will it take to run a regular household 115v/2.0amp chest freezer? And will 900 watts of panels be enough?

So here's the background that will paint the picture of why I'm asking what I'm asking;...

I just finally received my disability. I have funds on hand to build out a cargo trailer into my mobile tiny home. I COULD just live on the $949 income a month, but if I can still generate some quiet income, so much the better. To quietly and off the books generate income to support myself while fighting for 3.5 years to get the disability decision, I have been operating a hot dog cart biz. Despite my disabilities, this is one of the few things I can still do. I ended up asking myself,..."what if I could still do the hot dog thing as a nomad?" Without giving away my secret plan on how to achieve that,...it would require my utilizing a Uhaul-like box truck outfitted as the food truck, which would also be the tow rig which would pull my residence. 

But I will REQUIRE/NEED a chest freezer of the similar size and utility I currently have in my sticks & bricks garage. And I must emphasize that this is a CRITICAL aspect of the plan I am considering in my head. If it is not possible to CONTINUOUSLY run such a unit independent of shore power, then my idea is likely unattainable.