Hello.. Design phase newbie

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Krenov72

Reaction score
Hello. Love this forum. I have been heavily looking into this lifestyle, and every possible vehicle and set up. I am leaning towards a small box truck or van conversion. I want a set up that will allow me to live and work full time, with occasional trips to start. As I am able to save money, i would be looking to travel for months at a time. Ideally , I would be renting a small workshop in the country as a sort of home base.. Hopefully one I could openly, or stealthily live in in the van if I wanted to. I work as a cabinetmaker and woodworker. I would like to say, build decks and fences in the spring for a few months, then take the summer off.. Then pick up some work in the fall, and make some Christmas items to sell etc. I also worked as a cook for many years.. Pretty easy work to find for a month here and there , or regular seasonal gigs.. I live in the lower mainland, British Columbia, just outside of Vancouver. I want to build a mind blowing setup, that makes you say wow without choking on the price haha. Probably start with a simple camping type setup and see how the space is.. Work out a few kinks to get some reality thrown in with my lofty dreams!

Krenov72, welcome to the CRVL forums! Lucky you being a carpenter. I hope you'll share your designs and finished product with us!

To help you learn the ins and outs of these forums, this "Tips & Tricks" post lists some helpful information to get you started. We look forward to hearing more from you.