Got my class-B RV

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mpruet

Reaction score
Well, I bought a 2018 21 ft. Travato 59K class-B.  I was debating between getting a class-B RV or doing a DIY van conversion and finally chose the Travato.  I decided that I could afford the purchase without significantly impacting my retirement nest egg and wasn't sure that I could do a good job on a DIY project.  (I'm not that good with woodwork or electricity.)

I had a 37 foot class-A, and it had turned into a money pit.  It was older and required a new washing machine, hot water heater, fridge, window, sofa bed, fan, etc.  Also I had to replace all tires and recently had to replace the engine fuel pressure regulator, drive shaft, and starter relay.  While my wife and I took it to Alaska last year, she was fairly definite that she didn't want to do any long trips in the RV again.  I didn't take the rig anywhere this past year, but instead did the Prius camping thing all summer long.  While the Prius Car Camping (l'Hotel Prius) worked fine, it became really cramped when I took my dog with me.  So I opted for the Travato.

I had seriously thought about doing a van conversion, but wanted to be able to have my wife be able to fly to one of my destinations and stay with me in whatever my rig was.  I felt that my wife would need more comforts than I could provide in a DYI van conversion.  I just couldn't see my wife using a prota-potty, so I opted for the Travato 59K.  It has a layout that is quite similar to a lot of the DIY conversions that I have seen.  It is not so cramped like most class-B's are.