GIRLS' ROOM: Going to the RTR this winter first time, are you going?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kundrup

Reaction score
Hi, I'd love to start connecting with some of ya'll before I arrive, makes the prospect of driving 2500 miles a bit less daunting. 
Let me know your story!

I'm Laura, taking the winter off, like I've wanted to for many many years, and the RTR is one of the big reasons. I am a massage therapist for over 30 years, and have my own practice in Connecticut. I do not have an RV, or actually, I have a tiny fold out trailer, but I'm not going to take it, just doing the car and tent this time. Want to start from ground zero and work my way up!

Laura

Welcome, Laura!

I won't be there this Jan, as I won't be hitting the road until I sell my place next year.

If you haven't been to AZ in winter, please keep in mind that that they don't usually have bikini temps in January. While the daytime temps are often in the 50s and 60s, and the nights about 50F, the nighttime temps CAN drop into the 20s, so be prepared with a decent sleeping bag and warm clothing.

And have a GREAT time!

Hi Laura,

This will be my first year at the RTR too. I have been living in my class C for about a year, but I have been in one place. This will be my first time boondocking. I am really looking forward to it.

Caryn

I'd love to hear about your experience in a tent. I'm not going, thought about it, but just not the right time for me. Have fun!

This will be my first RTR as well. You're a brave lady coming by yourself out here. I cheated and caravanned.

First time at the RTR for me, I'll be down in the area by mid December. Not my first rodeo living in a small moving space though, I was a trucker for 15 years. =)