Getting Ready

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Randingo

Reaction score
Hello all!  Randingo here.  Very happy to be joining this awesome community.  I've been a Registered Nurse for the past 23 years.  Spent the majority of them working in an Operating Room.  I am a "Travel Nurse" now and move every 3 to 9 months.  Extended stay hotels have kept me comfortable for the past two years while eating a chunk of my income.  I am tired of it!!!

I came across Van Life videos on YouTube about 3 months ago.  While surfing I discovered CheapRvLiving and have been enlightened.  Thank you Bob!!

Thinking a van would be a good choice I started looking.  Ford, Dodge, GMC or Mercedes?  New or used?  I've looked at well over 100 vans in the past 8 weeks.  Not being sure of what to buy and not wanting to go in debt I decided to move into my 2016 Ford escape.  September 17, 2017 is the target date.  

The prep started today.  Built a bed platform 24"x 75".  

car1.jpg

car2.jpg

car3.jpg

car4.jpg

Car5.jpg

Attachments

• car1.jpg
    car1.jpg
    182.4 KB
  • car2.jpg
    car2.jpg
    167.1 KB
  • car3.jpg
    car3.jpg
    133.2 KB
  • car4.jpg
    car4.jpg
    153.3 KB
  • Car5.jpg
    Car5.jpg
    146.5 KB
" Not being sure of what to buy and not wanting to go in debt I decided to move into my 2016 Ford escape. " You are very wise, " grasshopper ".
Welcome, Randingo. " Go West, young man ". Enjoy the journey and the people you will meet.
" Ride, captain ride upon your mystery ship
Be amazed at the friends you have here on your trip
Ride captain ride upon your mystery ship
On your way to a world that others might have missed ".

That little bed there pays for itself, a cooler, and a coleman stove on the first night.

You just built yourself a significant pay raise. Congrats!