Hello from PA

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SB_LII

Reaction score
Hi all!
New to all of this. I am able to work remotely across the US, so I want to take advantage of that while I can.

I (24M) want to get a short term (about 3 month) furnished lease across the country in Arizona during the winter. I would be traveling only with my dog, and I think I will want to continue living in different parts of the country for 1-3 month stretches.

My initial thought is to get a van that I can live in short term (during 1-2 week stretches) while road-tripping across the country. I would continue to custumize the van over time past the initial trip across the country.

Sorry for the long post, but any advice or thoughts are welcome because I am very new to this. I am just starting to think about looking at vans and trying to figure how much it will cost me, but I don’t even know where to start. Thanks!

Better start looking now for winter reservations in Arizona. You will be lucky to find any short term especially with a pet. You might have better luck doing 3 one month stays at 3 different AirBnbs although it will be expensive. The van will be great for travel but you may find a trailer gives you the additional space you may find you need, especially with a furry friend so look at buying a 3/4 ton van you can tow a small trailer with or full time with without worry about weight or towing capabilities. Maybe live in the trailer while you build out the van. Just saying! Welcome to the forum!