Chevy van is it a good buy?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grim Beret

Reaction score
hi I looked at a Chevy high top van it drove smooth had a lot of power there's no rust on the bottom the engine looks pretty normal they want $9,000 for it it is a 2009 but it has  222,000 miles on it. Is it worth getting that this is my first van and I'm also new to car buying! Does anyone have any advice or thoughts on the subject? thank you

222,000 miles seems like a lot for a 2009. That's over 24k per year. Did they use it to travel? If so, then probably mostly highway miles, and maybe not as bad as it sounds.
One thing to keep in mind, you may be looking at the transmission going soon with that many miles. Of course that might depend on maintenance as well.
IMO, you're rolling the dice at that mileage. Do they have maintenance records? Any major repairs? Regular oil change and tune ups?

Lotta money

adding a third party hightop can be $2500+, but still. . .

I don't know any answers to those questions however the seats look great which tells me that it was probably highway miles I test drove it and it was pretty nice it seems to shift okay I was thinking a high top cost about 4000 to install so it's really about a $5,000 van I will keep those questions in mind when I go see the guy about the van tomorrow thank you

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

Grim Beret said:
I don't know any answers to those questions however the seats look great which tells me that it was probably highway miles I test drove it and it was pretty nice it seems to shift okay I was thinking a high top cost about 4000 to install so it's really about a $5,000 van I will keep those questions in mind when I go see the guy about the van tomorrow thank you

A good mechanic should tell you all you need to know :)

Is the van in California??  That's an SF Bay Area price!   :s