Why a Prius Dweller in the Van Forum? (long)

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Suanne

Reaction score
Why is a Prius Dweller in this Van Forum? Well, because I'm seriously considering a van.

If you would, please provide feedback on my decision-making processes -- am I forgetting something, is there another alternative that I've missed, if you were in the same situation and had my passions, what would you do?

Here's the situation (long):

Finances: I've been saving for a replacement vehicle since 2010. I knew my Prius wouldn't last forever. I'm frugal and a pretty good saver. I now have enough for a late-model used vehicle, including any necessary mods (insulation, solar, simple built-in furniture, etc.).

Current vehicle: I really like living out of my Prius. I love the gas mileage. I enjoy having windows all around, making it feel much bigger inside. It's been super dependable. It efficiently powers electronics, as well as the AC when sleeping in hot, humid climates (a generator on wheels). It's stealthy for overnighting in town. At almost 14 years old and 230K miles, small stuff (non-critical electronics) are starting to go out on it. I shouldn't complain, it's cost me less that $1K in repairs (beyond regular maintenance) since I bought it new in '03. But, I'm frustrated that its lower ground clearance keeps me from going down some back roads. Also, I'd like to have room in my vehicle for everything I own (e.g., 12v refrigerator, guitar, kayaking gear, camp kitchen, Dutch ovens, etc.).