WHat's your traction-adder solution?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bster13

Reaction score
***Required disclaimer... I'm a wannabe who's never done any sort of overlanding or traveling on forest roads.  I have no real world experience.***

I plan to live out of a Toyota RAV4 Hybrid w/ standard all-season tires, nothing special.  It has 7in of ground clearance (more than the 6.3in in the standard RAV4 oddly enough) and a poor AWD system (it has no locker and there is no connection between the front and rear wheels.  The front wheels are driven by the engine, and the rear wheels only are driven by ~67hp electric motors).

Anyway, I'm trying to do a ~reasonable~ job of being prepared for a somewhat "remote" area, off pavement.  I've watched Bob speak of traction mats (http://tinyurl.com/jzmdflf) which look to be great, but with someone with limited internal storage and a desire to remain as stealth as possible on the outside for city dwelling, storing these might be a challenge.  I just caught a VIDEO for this product (http://tinyurl.com/jtc6zlz) that looked promising as it does not take a lot of space to store.

I know I could go nuts with chain saws, shovels, straps, winches, etc., but I'm trying to find the balance for the amount of equipment to get me out of most sticky situations while not hogging a lot of space in my rig.  Ideas?  What would be reasonable or a must-have for you? Thanks!

If you're completely on your own, you need a good shovel.  You need a good jack.   Probably need a piece of plywood to put under the jack. If bogged down, you lift each wheel clear and fill in the rut with rocks, sticks, whatever you can scrounge.  Tire chains can be very helpful.  Sometimes, airing down your tires to put more square inches in contact with the ground can be helpful.  This is often done in sand. You will then need a compressor to air back up.