Water proofing, water damage

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VanKitten

Reaction score
I have spent the last few evenings watching every video of gutting and rebuilding due to water damage.

One fellow even tore off the outer skin and replace the fiberglass altogether.

Then, I see framing etc.   what I don't see is how the skin is then reattached to the new framing inside.   Are the 2" studs glued to the skin?  What about all the space between studs?

I expect to be taking out a lot of water damage.  On just one area, the press board was completely rotten...once removed I am left with just the Fiberglass skin.    

Will I need to be glueing thin Luan to the entire skin then glue that assembly to the studs?  

I have a lot of experience framing houses.  I can see that driving screws thru the entire exterior into the studs is not the way this is done (like putting sheathing on a house).   

Next question...I have been thinking a lot about how to make this entire thing waterproof.  Not just water tight, as given time anything will develope some small leaks.   What could I coat the surface with that will be attached to the fiberglass skin?  I considered gripset, but don't know if that will then cause any glue to fail.   Most of the rubberized compounds seem to have some nasty toxic materials.   Does the out gassing stop once cured?   I can leave the whole thing open and vented for a long time.   This is the high desert...dry, dry climate.   Pressure treated lumber is a bit heavy.  I haven't dealt with in a long while...do they still use arsenic?   Still, if I can use a lighter weight wood and treat it, I would prefer that to save on weight.

Not everyone builds exactly the same.

Tell us what unit you have.

To save weight, use aluminum instead of wood.

Why waterproof? Crossing the English channel in it?

Dave