Stupid Question...

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Captcharger

Reaction score
I'm totally new to this and have been looking for a trailer that I can pull with my truck. The truck has a towing capacity of 6400 pounds.

But when I research the trailers I find diffrent weights for each camper.

For example a 24 foot I looked at had these down

[font=Ubuntu, sans-serif]Towing Capacity
2790 lbs
Dry Weight
4730 lbs
Gross Vehicle Weight
7520 lbs[/font]

[font=Ubuntu, sans-serif]Which one of those do I use to see if I can pull said trailer? Would really help to know how much trailer I can get.[/font]

[font=Ubuntu, sans-serif]Thanks for any help you could give.[/font]

[font=Ubuntu, sans-serif]Bill[/font]

Dry weight is "empty". Gross vehicle weight is dry weight plus water,food, batteries,etc. can't exceed 7520 lbs. if your truck is rated for 6400 lbs., I would find a trailer all loaded up with everything you plan to carry, not to exceed 80% of that 6400lbs. (5100 lbs) why? Elevation gains equals loss of power. So, if you stay at sea level on flat,level roads, 6400 lbs would be fine. Does this make sense? Hope this helps.

The DRY WEIGHT is the actual weight of the trailer as it came from the factory, all water tanks - black, gray, and drinking - empty and no propane on board.

The TOWING CAPACITY is how much weight the trailer can carry - water, food, clothing, propane, your good china, etc.  This is a MAXIMUM permissable load.

The GROSS VEHICLE WEIGHT is the combination of those two numbers.  How much will the trailer weigh as you are pulling it down the road. 

As you can see, the 7520 lbs is more than a thousand pounds more than the 6400 lbs. your truck can safely pull.  If you could carefully weigh everything you plan to carry and limit it to no more than 1640 lbs., you could just make it work.

I would go with a smaller lighter trailer.