So Clueless

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OutdoorFT

Reaction score
So I would like an outsiders advice. Ill give you my info, maybe you nice guys and gals can help.

I have an F350, crew cab, 8ft bed. Can easily pull most TTs and a lot of 5ths. 
I have 5 cats, 2 very stubborn. 
Wont get rid of any.

Im not against getting rid of the truck for a motorhome. The wife wants space/storage. Shes a makeup addict.
Other than a certain (legal) hobby, I can be pretty minimalist. But making 50k a year with OT, its hard not to splurge. Would be quitting the job to leave New York. Ironic I started a blog on budgeting.

So in your cheap rv living opinions, would trailer be better for our situation or motorhome? If motorhome, toad will not be used. One motor limit as I am not a mechanic.

Thanks for any help.

What type of travel/distances do you plan to do? Moving with the weather?

Where do you see yourselves spending most of your nights, campgrounds or boondocking?

I'd be looking at 5th wheels.

You didn't say anything about what year your F350 is, which engine, how many miles, is it in good shape, do you really like it, etc.?

I tend to agree with Cyndi, a 5th wheel trailer has all the storage space, including basements, that a motor home would have.  Assuming the truck is in good shape, no too many miles, etc., a 5th would be my choice.

You and your wife should tour some 5ths and some Class A motorhomes (I don't think a Class C would be big enough for 5 cats) at some RV dealers and compare them.

Will you be staying in one place for a period of time or just a short time and then moving to another?
Pickup and 5er for long stays so you can use the pickup for errands.
Moho for short stays for ease of travel prep.

I'd suggest the 5th Wheel also so you don't have to pack up every time you want to do something besides move the rig.