Showers: Gyms or YMCA?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VanForNow

Reaction score
A newbie here, planning for life on the road this autumn. I hope this posting will help to narrow down which path to take, shower-wise.

Reading CRVL threads, gyms vs. the YMCA seem to be the most popular alternatives. Opinions and circumstances differ as to which is preferred.

Truck stops are also a consideration, but paying for regular showers at a truck stop seems to be pricey, unless you get one of their cards which allows a free shower after a certain amount of fuel has been purchased.

Getting back to gyms vs. the YMCA, which is better? Gyms are convenient, but their locations seem to be limited to rather large cities or towns, if a look at the Planet Fitness website is an indication.

YMCAs are present in a lot of towns, but some van dwellers seem annoyed that the YMCA websites are sometimes unclear as to who is eligible for showers. If I understand correctly, some YMCAs are apparently in networks which do not grant privileges to YMCA members in other networks. And some YMCAs seem geared toward certain age groups, which could be another limiting factor.

Another thing to consider is the cost of annual membership in a gym vs. the YMCA.

Any opinions on these subjects would be appreciated.

We have rarely found any Ys with restrictions but have seen prices of $2-7 per shower
We also use city pools in small towns, usually $2-3 for just shower.

We won't pay the high price at a truckstop but Margie will hit the fuel island and ask drivers for spare shower tickets. We can usually go into the same shower together...nice to have a good back scrubbing :)

I recently started asking truck drivers at the local Pilot as well and have had great success with it. They get showers for free and they get more of them than they can use.