Problem with lights on Chevy Van

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

akrvbob

Supporting Member
Reaction score
I have a very good friend who lives in a Chevy Vandura 2500 and she is having problems with her lights. She asked me for advice and I didn't have an answer, so I am going to post it here for you experts to chime in. This is her question:<br><br><div style="padding-left: 30px;"><em>When I turn on the high beams my regular beams turn off. Then when I turn off my high beams my regular beams turn back on. I cant get both lights on at the same time. Or perhaps my regular beams turned off when I engaged my high beams. Just wondering if other people with my type of van have a similar problem? </em></div><br>That doesn't sound right to me, but the only Chevy van I have ever owned is my 2001 and the lights stay on it all the time, so I am no expert.<br><br>Any suggestions on if that is right or what the problem and fix might be?<br>Thanks Bob

A quick search shows that it's a common question for 88-99 Chevy/GM vehicles. They are designed to do this, but you can get aftermarket kits for under $20 that leaves the low beams on with high beams.

Haven't found a reasonably answer to why they did this (one place mentioned some cities/states have laws against 4 bulbs lit up front being illegal, doesn't seem like enough of a reason though)

<P>I have a 89 chevy pickup and it does that,its the way the were made,its normal.</P>

Hi Bob,<br><br>What year is the van?<br><br>On my 2002 suburban I am able to ground a specific wire, so the low and high beam work at the same time.<br><br>I find it very convenient, especially when in the boonies as you know.<br><br>I will try to do a search to see if it can be done with her van<br><br>Putz