Newbie refrigerator questions

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mothercoder

Reaction score
Starting this out by asking you to be please be gentle with the newbie.   I have a lot of knowledge about many other things but living in a van is not one of them. :blush:

To be sure, anything having to do with power and electrical confounds me.  What I consider simple questions become complicated and I feel I have to read them with an electronics for dummies handbook nearby. 

I will be starting out on a strict budget and I have identified my basic needs to be happy.  I'm actually compiling a table of those needs with different cost options depending on how the finances shake out. 

From my reading on the forum, it seems that the cheapest option is a standard cooler with extra insulation and ice.  While I can do this, I don't want to do the ice thing.  Too many bad experiences with not finding a damn thing that will keep the melted ice out of your packaged goods.  Next step up would be a super cooler with extra insulation and...ice.  The next step up (budget-wise) would be a 120v apartment refrigerator - but it seems it's almost a wash when you have to boost your power supply to be able to run it.  And then we come to 12v compressor refrigerators which you have to be sure to vent properly and which are costly. 

Do I have this right?  I want to put my money to what makes the most sense and makes my life on the road as simple as possible.  If I have to move funds from one area to another in order to do so, I will.  But I want to be smart about it.  If it means paying a little more now instead of trying things that don't work only to end up with a more expensive option after all, then why not do it that way to start.  I know many people are quite happy with using a cooler with ice but I'm not one of them.