New van & east coast bound

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

izzyfwtx

Reaction score
Hello everybody! I'm 18 years old and from Fort Worth Texas, and I recently bought myself a 1993 Ford Econoline 150 Conversion High-top with 104,000 miles on it.  I've always been nomadic at heart and fascinated with living life as a minimalist, and decided that as soon as a I graduated high school this year I would begin taking steps towards fulfilling that vision. 

There are a few things to worry about before hitting the road though, things I'm sure have all at one time crossed your mind. One concern is the age of the van. The previous owner has had the radiator, muffler, transmission, battery, and breaks replaced and swears that it rarely ever gave him any problems. It passed inspection and the mechanic that I took it to prior to purchasing the van told me that it seems to be in great shape! However, I am anticipating mechanical problems and breakdowns as an inevitable feature of owning a van :p

Another concern is how to make enough money on the road. I'm a folk/Americana one woman band and perform all around Texas as a current way making a living, but the music scene on the east coast has always been incredibly appealing to me. I can't wait to drive my van out there to experience it first hand but I know that income associated with that type of career can fluctuate. I'm optimistic however! The perks of living in a van seem to align with my priorities and my long-term goals. I'm excited to familiarize myself with other people like myself and learn as much as I can from this vandweller community!

Hi, Izzy. What an interesting post. Do you mind if I ask if you're continuing your education or are you taking a hiatus to travel and grow your artistic endeavors? Anyway, welcome! Nice to meet you...

Hey there!