my 2005 Astro AWD conversion

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

anm

Reaction score
A few months ago I bought a 2005 Chevrolet Astro AWD cargo van off Craigslist. I figure it was fate since it was waiting less than 2 miles from me, and had everything that I was looking for, a late model (it was the last year they were made), all wheel drive, A/C, body in good shape, mechanically good, but there were a few problems. It needed a complete set of tires, the A/C didn't work, the switch for disabling the dome lights didn't work, the service engine light was on, and a few other miscellaneous glitches.

At one time I worked as a car mechanic, and then later as an aircraft mechanic in Vietnam (thanks Uncle Sam!), but both of those have given me a good understanding of and ability to get mechanical things working. A few days later I had the A/C working, it needed a vacuum line and the blower motor switch and connector replaced. The service engine light was caused by a dirty MAF sensor, a $7 spray can of cleaner and it was fixed. Then I found a set of tires (also on Craigslist) that were brand new, complete with wheels off a 2014 Jeep CJ. For $250 I had a brand new set of tires plus a set of Jeep wheels to sell! And there were many other little glitches that I took care of.

I have already decided I want to insulate it, cover the floor with plywood and lino, build a bed platform with storage under, put in a table with seating, and put in some other storage for a water container. I also decided to put a roof rack on it and a ladder on one of the back doors.

So this is how I started, first the floor:
I used heavy wrapping paper to make a template, just tape it to the van's floor and carefully go around the periphery with a pencil. You'll have to cut the template in places just so you can form it to fit. Then clamp it to the plywood and trace around it: