Moony: 'cause I got my head in the sky

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Moony

Reaction score
Hi all. I'm currently a college student, studying biology and working toward a teaching certificate. I'm in love with this lifestyle and eager to start, even though it'll probably be (at least) a year before I'm able to.
I love the freedom and self-reliance of it, and I figure that, since I'm already accustomed to living in a small area, the eventual shift won't be as difficult as it could be. Since the profession I'm going into does't pay overly well, I figure I should get ready to live my life on the run from student loan collectors ;) Kidding, I really do love the freedom and self-reliance of it, and the stability those add.
Until I'm able to start my own conversion, I'll be saving up and prowling the forums searching for pertinent information.

Hi Moony! Welcome to the CRVL forums! To help you learn the ins and outs of these forums, this "Tips & Tricks" post lists some helpful information to get you started. We look forward to hearing more from you.

Are you familiar with Ken Ilgunas? He graduated from Duke University and managed to stay out of debt by living in a van.

He also wrote a book, Walden On Wheels."
More info, here: http://www.kenilgunas.com/

Hiya Moony!

My daughter is an animal biologist, and now has a really great job because of her degree. What type of biologist are you studying to become?? Where are you attending school??

You know, there are quite a few students who live in vans and other vehicles, in order to save money. This may be an 'in' for you to consider.

Welcome to the forum!!

@Cyndi: Thanks for the welcome! And the link to Ilgunas' blog, I hadn't heard of him before and I look forward to reading his materials.