Is there vehicle inspection in Nevada?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grim Beret

Reaction score
Hi, I’m looking for a state to establish residence that has no inspection, I googled it and got a list of states, and Nevada wasn’t on the list! However I remember Bob saying there no inspection in Nv, but he has Calif plates! Can I get feedback on what is right, when I make my move it’s gotta be all or nothing, hate to be up sh@&t creek without a paddle! Thanks

When I lived in Nevada vehicle inspection was by county, not state. So look up the information for the county in Nevada that you wish to be a resident of.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I only need get smog check to renew registration, but best to check with DMV website as Blanch indicated.

The county in California that I am a resident of only requires a smog inspection at the time of the initial registration, no subsequent inspections are required.

Blanch said:
The county in California that I am a resident of only requires a smog inspection at the time of the initial registration, no subsequent inspections are required.
Very bizarre, given it's ... California. As Reducto said, in NV you need smog every time you renew registration.

QinReno said:
Very bizarre, given it's ... California. As Reducto said, in NV you need smog every time you renew registration.

It isn’t really, if you know why. Smog requirements are more severe in areas of air pollution. Del Norte county in California has no air pollution and less than 30,000 inhabitants. Reno and Las Vegas have air pollution problems, the rest of Nevada does not.

Ok, I don’t really know what a smog check is, what are they looking for? So in Nevada you just get the vin inspection as long as it’s outside of Vegas? Thanks