Help with my electrical design?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CCSummers

Reaction score
Warning: I am a complete and utter amateur. I apologize in advance if this is a super annoying post. I very well might just be in over my head.

Summary:

1. I am adding a second battery in my van to charge devices, power lamps, etc. (I will call the second battery the house battery from here on out.) I'm attempting to design a system where this house battery is charged off the starter battery.
  2. There must be a mechanism in place that prevents the house battery from draining the starter battery while the ignition is off and I am using power.
  3. To do this I plan on using a solenoid to make sure the house battery is only charging when the engine is on. This will also ensure that the house battery doesn't draw off the starter battery.
  4. I'll be using an inverter so I can use AC, and a circuit breaker of sorts so I don't harm the battery.

Diagram:

Here is a diagram of what I have so far:
I have also attached this diagram below.
While I did my best in making this diagram, I know it is hard to follow. I apologize.

Notes:

1. What I plan to power initially: A lamp or two, my laptop charger (60W AC), and my phone charger.
  2. What I’d like to be able to power eventually (with help of added solar panels): A stereo system with a record (vinyl) player, a small fan or two and a hot plate. I’ve been told to forget about the hot plate because they run on an upwards of 1000W and are extremely inefficient. However I would like to be able to cook in my van without opening the windows as I’d like to do some stealth camping in cities.
  3. Inverter: As of right now I plan on using a 1500W inverter. This should be able to handle my biggest future load, if I choose to pursue it: the hotplate.