Hello Everyone

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TnTravel

Reaction score
I am new to this site, I have been reading many of the posts for awhile. I am picking up our van on Saturday a 2017 Chrysler Pacifica. I am going to purchase a kit from a gentleman at Gonecamper.com in Wisconsin. My wife and I will be camping 2-5 days at a time mostly in TN state parks. A little  about me, I am 56 years old and recently took early retirement . Previously I was a special education teacher in an elementary school for 15 years and prior to that I was a soldier in the Army for 23 years. I was a combat medic and flight medic for most of my career working in Hueys and UH-60 Blackhawk helicopters. My goal is to be as well prepared as possible for anything that could come up on our little camping trips. I am not very experienced in mechanical repairs and am very nervous about electric and batteries. If you were shot or hit by a bus I would be all over it and stabiize you in a heartbeat LOL, I have been reading posts for a while now my current question I need help on is this. I plan on using 12v DC accessories for everything we use in the van. The only item we will use that is not 12v is a Keurig mini coffee maker. This will keep the wife happy and of course happy wife happy life. My question it is rated at 1470 watts. Will a 1500 or 2000 watt inverter portable generator run just that coffee maker safely or can a house battery used only for that be used? please help me out. We will take some long trips and I hope to see some of you regulars on the road or at an event. Thanks for reading. I hope to pick everyone's brain. There is an incredible amount of knowledge on here.
Thanks
Jim Galloway

It should run off a 2000 watt inverter. The don't stay powered on for all that many minutes.