Cooking with 12 volts

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm a truck driver so I live similarly to you RV and van dwellers. Although I'm an owner/operator and have a 1500w inverter, I cook exclusively with my 12 volt oven.

I've figured out how to cook some tasty meals in my little oven. It's a RoadPro and I call it my lunch box cooker because it looks like a lunch box. I have developed 4 different cooking methods for the cooker. I'll eventually discuss them all. Most of the things I've fixed are single item dishes that don't constitute a recipe as much as utilize one of the cooking methods. I am working on some full fledged recipes for some one dish meals. I'll start by discussing my favorite dish, Chicken and Rice with Vegetables.

The RoadPro uses standard size foil loaf pans. I buy my replacement pans at Walmart.

If you simply put your food in the pan and close up the oven, you'll get a hot spot on the bottom and you'll burn the food on the bottom unless you tend to it constantly. There is an alternative. I use the "water bath" method. By putting water around the foil pan, the cooking temp is kept at 212° and the bottom of the pan never gets hot enough to burn the food. I use this method for slow cook recipes as well as steaming vegetables.

Here's the chicken and rice recipe. This will feed 2 people. This is not a quick meal if you do everything from scratch but there is a shortcut.

I use chicken leg quarters because I can get a 10# bag for $6. It helps that I prefer dark meat.

Put a leg quarter in a foil pan. I prefer to separate the leg from the thigh because the chicken will fit in the pan easier. I also prefer to cover the pan with a piece of foil. Cleaning the cooker is easier if all the fat stays in the pan.