Bears and food storage

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gonegary

Reaction score
I used to camp in CA a lot and they would have bear proof storage bins provided at national park campgrounds.  So I'm wondering about bears and boondocking?  Anyone have bear stories?  I'm thinking of going to Flagstaff area and or Colorado.  I don't know what the bear etiquette or danger is in those areas?
Gary

I was in flagstaff about a month ago, at one of the RTR offshoot camps. No one was concerned about bears. there was food out all over camp.

I have been camping and backpacking in grizzly country for 50+ years.  A few encounters but no problems.  Never lost food, only had black bears in my camp (once in Robson Provincial Park and twice in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area).  If you are careful about food smells you should have no problem.

Talk to the rangers in the area you are going to boondocks in.  They will give you the latest information and best advice.

-- Spiff

It is said that you should hang it from a tree at least a hundred feet?/yards? from camp.

If there is a garbage can or bin in camp, don't park next to it.

Dogs have a sense of smell 70,000 times better than a human. A Bloodhound has the best sense of smell of all dogs. The National Park Service says that a black bear's sense of smell is about SEVEN TIMES as good as a Bloodhound's, and that a black bear's sense of smell can easily be measured in miles. https://www.nps.gov/yose/blogs/Bear-Series-Part-One-A-Bears-Sense-of-Smell.htm

If there is a bear around, and he's hungry, he can find your food. Cheerful thought, eh?