Attracted to Van Dwelling/Self Sufficiency, but...

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

IndiMind

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

For several years, I have been strongly attracted to the ideas of both van dwelling and self sufficiency.
To this point, I have done nothing expect watch some YT videos, some Netflix/Amazon videos & read some forum posts on this or related subjects.
There are some aspects of living in either of these ways that I would like your input on, to help me make decisions as to whether either would be viable for me.

I think I am more a less a total novice. I am in my 50s, with no concern about living on my own (I do now but in a neighborhood), although I have never lived "alone in the woods" or in any remote way before. I do wonder if I will cope or not, even without anything happening, if I should find myself needing another person's assistance in some way. Will the sounds of "rustling" and "breaking twigs" ever become just background noise?
I did camping as a child as a scout a few times but I remember very little about that.

In my entire life, I have never lived in anything but a sizable city (>250,000 people). I have never had a garden, know anything about growing or tending to plants or growing food, nor have I ever built anything or fixed anything that is not very simple.
I am not a technical-minded person (I've been tested a few times in my life) and other than the most basic of skills that need simple tools or not, I do not know how to live independently, or where to start to list the things I need to know about before considering whether I would be willing to learn them. I also am not, dare I say it, "a hard/harsh/rough/hardy" person and this attribute seems to me to be one central element in all the people I have read about or watched who live in either of these ways.