Women Only: Just bought a 88 Ford E350 box van and questions getting startedz

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RenataAllison

Reaction score
I have named her Mathilda which means strength and battle.

She is an 88 E350 box van with a 460 engine. 78,000 original miles with a peak/mom's attic large enough to hold a twin size mattress and access to the front cab. Rear entry is a roll up door. It has a pullout loading ramp.

She needs a bit of mechanical work before I can start the build. My day job is as a service manager at a national auto repair chain. So the mechanical repairs I have under control. Thanks to a sweet discount at my job and other handy connections.

I think I have the skills to handle insulation and framing out the inside.

What I feel intimidated by is the electrical. Eventually, I may add solar. I have read enough to know that I want to wire it for 30 amp RV hook ups and have a shore line, but I Havre no clue beyond that. I will be running AC somehow as I am not giving up my 2 cats Taglio and Anemone. I will not be doing a gray water/waste tank set up.

Any resources you have that helped you go from zero knowledge to DIY is especially appreciated in regards to wiring.

I have a few random questions. I am still in planning stages and I want to avoid having to undo completed work or live with the if I had it to do again/next time feels.

1. Should I plan the wiring out before starting to insulate.
1.1  If yes, do I need to run conduit and what material is best to use as conduit in a box van?

2. Is it better to insulate before or after cutting out for a fan or window and why?

3. I am thinking of framing around the roll up door so it will still roll up and leave a 2 or 3 foot porch for storage of things I do not want the cats to get into.