Why no snowbird schedule in NM?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

badmotorscooter

Reaction score
Newbie here planning to go on the road fulltime in the next couple of years.  I'm in the planning stages right now (probably over planning) and will be doing trips soon.  Trying to make it to the RTR but don't have a rig yet, I live in SE AZ.

Why does the general boondocking route not seem to include NM?  Tons of BLM land and national forests, lots of elevation to work with.  Carlsbad is about 2800ft and sorrounded by BLM lands, only about 10 degrees cooler than Quartzsite.  Lincoln and Gila national forests will easily get you 8000 ft for summer.  

Nothing against AZ, NV, CA and CO, just wondering why NM doesn't seem to be on the regular path?

I've been curious about this, too. ^All of what the OP states.^ 
Also, I believe you can get an annual Park Pass for very little, comparatively speaking. 
So beautiful in NM...

I had wondered about that myself off and on.

Perhaps it's because of the (relative) coolness of the temperatures. The following is from https://weatherspark.com/y/3672/Average-Weather-in-Carlsbad-New-Mexico-United-States-Year-Round, referring to temps in Carlsbad.

The cold season lasts for 2.8 months, from November 22 to February 16, with an average daily high temperature below 65°F. The coldest day of the year is December 31, with an average low of 31°F and high of 57°F.

For SOME snowbirds, they would rather warmer winters than that, which can be found in other parts of the desert SW that time of year.

~angie

Sent from my VS501 using Tapatalk

Yes, I thought of the awesome winter temps in the Yuma area could be a big factor. But with people being from all over North America, 10 degrees cooler in the winter would still seem very comfortable to many of them.