Which Vehicle to Choose for Forest Road Boondocking?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mtm12345

Reaction score
Newbie here. For that last few years I was under the illusion that I might be able to modify my 2006 Honda Odyssey to make it up nasty forest service roads like those in Montana. I have been trying to raise it up to 8 inches clearance from a measly 4 inches. I gather from talking to my mechanic, the dealer and Les Schwab this isn't a good plan. So I am going to start afresh with my vehicle living platform. I don't plan on doing serious off-roading. I would say my budget is very limited, but I could scrape 30k together with solar and everything. I ponder truck campers vs vans. I wonder about the necessity of 4WD, gas mileage, reliability and cost. Does anyone have advice on where to start or what questions to ask myself?

I would suggest an older 4WD Suburban - the extended one if you can get it. Lots of room, reasonably priced, easy to lift, very easy to locate parts and fix. It will get you into pretty much any area you reasonably need to go under most weather conditions (driver skills are foremost though). The downside is sucky gas mileage. Also make sure and do thorough inspections for rust in all the usual places - especially in the floor pans, rocker panels, and wheelwells. If you just HAPPEN to luck out, an old Toyota Landcruiser J60 series in good condition would would be frickin awesome but rust is a huge issue with most of them...

Welcome and Cheers!

Shooting in the dark here, but if you want to car-camp on nasty forest service roads you might look at a used Subaru....AWD and a basic wagon layout with the Forester and Outback. Decent fuel mileage too.