Tool Storage

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ramblingvanman

Reaction score
As a mechanic, I have a lot of tools. Working around the space taken up by my 2 tool boxes is my major concern as far as building while living in my van is concerned. I can move the smaller box while full, but the bigger box I would have to empty before moving. I have pared down my tool selection as much as possible, more than I am comfortable with really, and my boxes still take up a lot of room. I may have to bite the bullet and ditch the boxes altogether. I plan to offer rv/vehicle/golf cart repair services to my fellow travelers to help fund my traveling. That means my tools need to be organized. Do you guys have any alternate tool storage ideas that would allow me to ditch my boxes?

gsfish said:
I don't have any tool storage suggestions but I have a neighbor that did a similar gig when he was sailboat cruising with good results.

Guy

I can see  that. He could probably make good money just cleaning the barnacles off of the bottom of small to midsized boats.

Maybe not ditch the concept of tool boxes altogether but use smaller ones.

I find that in vans, several smaller totes work better than one big one. It's easier to find a spot for something small than to have one large 'thing' that always seems to be in the way. That way they also can be light enough each that you can move them without having to empty them. Also some plastic cases used for craft/hobby storage can be more versatile than the conventional metal tool boxes.

I've also seen soft side vinyl wraps be put in to use for such things as wrench sets. They roll up and can be stored separately from tool boxes. Little cubbyholes and small compartments built in to the wasted space in the doors can be put to use that way.