Technomadness- My Custom Box Truck Build - with sailboat inside!

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Technomad

Reaction score
Greetings--

Decided to start this thread because I've reached the point of viability and am gonna pursue this until it becomes unviable or I realize I'm insane.  Part of me thinks this is a little insane (well, typical me insane-- go far out there with different priorities than everyone else, but that has worked for me pretty damn well in my life.)

My crazy idea is-- I want to live full time in a van.  No big surprise there-- BUT-- I want to bring a sailboat with me, and I want to have a nice work space like I have in my apartment.  I'm a software developer and I can't be without my computers.   And I have a tendency to not want to compromise.

I really love sailing, and owned a boat for many years.  I learned my lesson though-- the more hassle it is to get on the water the less time you spend sailing, and the less likely you are to go sailing, and the other lesson is NEVER BUY A BOAT! Well, a "real" boat.  This hobie isn't really a boat, it's a sailing kayak with delusions of grandeur and given what I've seen on  youtube it sails quite well for a not-really-rigged, just-drop-the-mast-in sailboat.   (I haven't bought it yet but the candidates its competing with are smaller.)

I don't want to trailer this baby, and I don't want to give up precious real estate on the roof (cause I want it all solar panels so I can boondock as much as possible.)   So I want the boat to go IN THE VAN.

This boat and mast are both nearly 19 feet long.