Please review my power set up

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

onetrue

Reaction score
Hey folks, I am soon to be on the road and I am finalizing my solar set up. Planning to add a fridge later but for now just a single 100w panel to charge laptop,phone, etc from a single 100Ah battery. 

I have never done any electrical before but I am reasonably clever...still would like to have my idea double-checked in case i am missing something or have something wrong !

So I will be connecting the charge controller to the (single) battery, and then the solar panel to the controller.

Then my plan is to connect a fuse block directly to the pos/neg battery terminals.

This part I am not sure about...do I need some sort of separate ground or is this all I need to do for this step?

Next I will be connecting a 12v dual plug outlet to the fuse block, and will be plugging a 12v splitter with 12v and usb sockets into one of those outlets. Perhaps I can skip the first step and just find a 12v item to wire directly to the fuse block that already has the usb ports,etc.

My intention is to try to go all 12v if possible, but will probably add a small inverter to the setup for charging my beard trimmer, rechargeable battery charger, and maybe other 110v items from time to time...I am getting a 12v charge adaptor for my laptop so no pure sine wave needed.
In terms of adding an inverter for the items mentioned above, would I connect the inverter directly to the battery terminals?

Last question is what gauge wire should I use for the various connections?

Thanks so much in advance.

peace

christopher

Hello One. I'm not an expert on all of the possibilities, but I put in a basic 100W solar system myself. You will need a lot more solar wattage and battery to run most frigerators. What you can do with 100W is run lighting, plus a laptop, typically which draw about 40W.