optimal system voltage

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gothicsurf

Reaction score
I am just beginning a plunge into building out the shell of my truck as a robust boondocking/camping or if need be survival shelter and am stoked about figuring out the electrical setup. So far I have 2 100W compact Renogy solar panels, a 20A 12/24V Rover Elite MPPT and 2 35Ah SLA batteries. I plan on placing the batteries behind the bench of the cab. Because there are two batteries and the controller is 12/24V capable, I got to wondering the value of running them in series for 24V. Perhaps this is more efficient for the MPPT and inverter?

First I do plan to charge them from the alternator in parallel when the car is running using a relay disconnect as shown in this video actuated by the 12V ACC lead of the ignition. Would it make sense to then connect the MPPT and inverter to these in series, and any other 12V appliances in parallel? Maybe this would provide a more stable voltage level or lessen the effects of a deep drain? Or would this thought really only save on a bit of copper in being able to run a couple connections in higher gauge?

Attachments

• mighty-max-battery-12v-batteries-ml35-12mp2-64_1000 (Small).jpg
    mighty-max-battery-12v-batteries-ml35-12mp2-64_1000 (Small).jpg
    30.4 KB · Views: 1
  • renogy-solar-charge-controllers-rcc20rvre-g1-64_1000 (Small).jpg
    renogy-solar-charge-controllers-rcc20rvre-g1-64_1000 (Small).jpg
    25.3 KB · Views: 0