NEWBIE: Trans cooler line replacement

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cinemaphonic

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I have a 96 dodge ram van and the passenger side trans line started leaking (not sure if it is return or supply).

Can you guys point me towards any repair videos or links or explain how I can do this?

I tried to post on a dodge forum but no one really answered the question. One guy seems to think I need to replace the entire line assembly, while another seems to think I can just replace the line. 

I found this video, but I'm unsure if it applies to me. I'm really new to doing mechanical repairs, but I'm learning.

I'm attaching a couple of pictures for reference. Thank you in advance.

Attachments

• 2015-12-09 12.10.27.jpg
    2015-12-09 12.10.27.jpg
    561.3 KB · Views: 26
  • 2015-12-09 12.10.32.jpg
    2015-12-09 12.10.32.jpg
    449.8 KB · Views: 13
  • 2015-12-09 12.10.41.jpg
    2015-12-09 12.10.41.jpg
    628.5 KB · Views: 12
Diagnoses over the Internet is difficult.
You can replace the line. Try NAPA auto parts. Show him the transmission cooler line. He will get the correct part for you. I really want to be more helpful but again, Diagnoses is difficult over the internet.

Just looking at the fittings seems to be a pressure line, but then again, what do I know.  Haven't worked on one since they were just a rubber hose held on with hose clamps.

I am with VonBrown on this.  Simplest is just to replace it. It appears to be leaking at the crimp.  I don't think those can be fixed, just replaced.

B and C said:
Just looking at the fittings seems to be a pressure line, but then again, what do I know.  Haven't worked on one since they were just a rubber hose held on with hose clamps.

I am with VonBrown on this.  Simplest is just to replace it. It appears to be leaking at the crimp.  I don't think those can be fixed, just replaced.