newbie gradually getting into vanlife

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lab_nomad

Reaction score
I'm a medical lab technician, and I recently started traveling (like nurses do). I'd like to get a minivan (for mileage, stealth, and space for my dogs...otherwise I'd just live out of my car). I'm not going to do a build, at least initially. I'm going to gradually ease my way into vanlife.

Initially, my plan is just to sleep in the van if it takes more than a day to get to a job. I don't want to subject my dogs to harsh temperatures until I figure out all the ins and outs of climate control. But eventually I'd like to live in it while working b/c the company gives me a housing allowance, and I'd love to pocket that whole amount. I'm currently staying in an Airbnb and I will be moving to a short-term furnished rental later this month. I feel like my entire working life I've never been able to save much, and I think it's the ridiculous cost of housing. :mad:

My current assignment is in Massachusetts (why did I agree to go to New England in the winter?!?). I think they will want to extend me when my contract is up. I'd be willing to do it, but I'd want to go home for a few weeks, so I can buy a van (and get to work on selling my house). When I come back it'll be March, April and May. Still cold, but not freezing and getting warmer. I think the dogs will be fine in the car while I'm at work.