New to site, new to idea

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NinaBrother1943

Reaction score
Hello All:

I stumbled across this message board while I was looking at Class B motorhome Sprinters on YouTube and anywhere else.  I am completely new to this idea of a motorhome.  I have never been camping or even in a motorhome.  I am completely novice at this experience.  What I like is the idea of taking a road trip and not having to stop for bathroom breaks, walking around, eating, etc.

As with much of anyone out there, I would like the best deal I can get. I saw a YouTube video from Civ Div:

This is a totally awesome build and there are many (almost all things) I would like in mine.  I may alter a few things because I am not the average (or new, or experienced) camper.  I may get into camping but the main thing is to use for long weekends and vacations.

Are there any ideas out there of ways to create your own?  Or to re-create one like this?  Additionally, I would like to build this over time, meaning I would like to start with the basics such as the van and a bathroom and then add things on here and there as I save up for these changes.

Also, I am not a building either!  I see Civ Div and he had a great helper in his father.  I would be great working with someone who knows something.  I suppose I can hire someone but as stated, I don't necessarily want to do this all at one time.

Any thoughts?  Anyone in the same situation like me?  Thanks.

NB1943

There must be eleventy-billion youtube vids out there on this subject, ranging from the "no-build" build approach to elaborate modifications that cost more than the original vehicle.

You might start by searching youtube for "cheaprvliving".

Welcome to a universe of possibility.

I started out in a cargo trailer I converted into a toyhauler my long term goal was to buy a motorhome and pull the trailer.