New to RV Living

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rcundiff

Reaction score
Hello! My name is Reilly and I'm new to RVs and to this forum. I'm a college student paying her own tuition and as I'm sure many of you know or remember, it's not cheap! A friend and I recently bought a 21-ft '76 Taurus Trailer as a way to live cheaply while going to school. Needing to park it in a semi-permanent place has raised some issues, and I was hoping you all might have some suggestions.

We both work at the used bookstore in our college town and our boss has already graciously offered to let us park and live in the trailer on his beautiful property, but we first have to establish water, electricity, and sewage. The holy trinity, right? If we could park right next to his house, it would be easy enough to run a garden hose and an extension cord to the camper, but his family has requested a bit of distance.

So, ye of RV wisdom and experience: what takes first priority? What are some of our options re: water and electricity hook-ups? Is the waste issue easy enough to get around? We're not afraid to get creative.

Keep in mind that we're heading into a Virginia winter and don't have meal plans on campus, so will need to cook.

Thank you all so much! I'll be more than happy to provide some pictures ASAP and answer any questions. I'm sure I've left some info out.

Welcome.

At the risk of being labeled excessively negative, I'll mention a few problems I foresee.

Most rvs are NOT built for winter living. Insulation is often minimal, and water and waste tanks are usually exposed underneath where they will easily freeze. The manufacturers assume that they will only be used 3 seasons or that they will be used by snowbirds who go south for the winter. There are a few exceptions, so called 4 season rvs. They are more expensive to build and buy, of course.