Motorcycling and Nomads: Who's doing it?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tx2sturgis

Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
This is my first time to start a thread here...I have looked around on the board and haven't found very much information that deals with how full-timers and nomads are bringing a motorcycle along for the journey.

Of course many do, but there does not seem to be much information in one area.

My plans are still in the 'gel' stage, nothing solid or set in stone yet.

I currently own two motorcycles, one with a sidecar, and plan to bring one of them, or possibly both, when I retire early next year and can make the transition to full time living-on-wheels.

My goal, which is still a moving target, is to build out a box truck, (which would be my third conversion) or possibly, to buy a smaller RV, and tow my cargo trailer with one bike on board, and probably store the other bike for the foreseeable future, or possibly sell it.

Anyway the reason for the thread is I would like to know from those of you who are traveling and/or boondocking with a motorcycle in a trailer, on a hitch rack, (or stuffed into the back of your van or box truck) how it works for you, what are the advantages, the disadvantages, the perks, etc.

I know a bike is gonna come in handy for trips to the store, running errands, having fun exploring the local area. Stuff like that.

But have you found the convenience worth the extra work involved in owning, insuring, maintaining, loading, and unloading it all the time.

Also, has anyone had a vehicle breakdown where the bike was used to get parts for a repair or simply to go get help?

And if you did carry a larger bike along, did you find that a scooter or moped, or small dual-sport bike worked better in the long run, being lighter and cheaper to own and maintain?