Mobile printer suggestions

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Matlock

Reaction score
Anyone have hands-on experience?

I've been looking for a 12V paper printer, brand not important. Wired or WiFi is ok. Smaller is good.

I do have the "occasional" need to print out a form. Example would be a camping permit form and a few VA/Govmt/Insurance papers that need signed and mailed.

I think having one on-board would be an asset.

Thanks in advance

Glad you asked - a very small printer is on my wish list as well!!

The big table top 3in1 is going to be installed at my friends place where I will have my legal address for her to use but I know I'll be needing one on the road.

I have been carrying a Canon Small In One for a few years.

Was the smallest I could find, but still needs to work off an inverter.

Got tired of having to run into town and paying to have things scanned or printed.

Problem with minimum use for inkjet printers is they dry out. The Cannon Bubble jets seem to be able to go long time between uses. I used to carry one in the pre-internet days so I could print stuff and fax it...

It was not 12V, but had a battery that could be charged.

http://www.amazon.com/Canon-BJC-55-Color-Bubble-Printer/dp/B00004ZAV2

Lasers need too much current to work.

Toner lasts longer than ink. I tend to have my ink cartridges dry out before
i use them up. I have a Kodak. Don't be fooled by the media. The inks do not last as long as I think they should.

You only buy a printer once. The refill inks/toner you buy repeatedly.

compassrose said:
Toner lasts longer than ink. I tend to have my ink cartridges dry out before
i use them up. I have a Kodak. Don't be fooled by the media. The inks do not last as long as I think they should.

You only buy a printer once. The refill inks/toner you buy repeatedly.