Lowe's

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GrantRobertson

Reaction score
I worked as a seasonal employee at Lowe's this past spring and summer. I noticed that there were several people who practically lived in the parking lot. They were there almost every night or on rotating nights. One was a gigantic old bread van with a fig tree where the passenger seat used to be.

No one at the Lowe's talked about it much. I know no one cared at all, other than to feel bad for them. The only thing we ever did about it was to try not to shine our headlights into the cars, vans, and RVs as we drove out of the lot on our way home at night. I know it is not an official policy in any way. And there are no signs either way. Nevertheless, it is a thing that happens.

Has anyone else noticed any other Lowe's stores with similar unwritten policies of tolerance for overnight parkers?

Sure, we've used Lowes (and buy from them). We also park at Safeways, Krogers, and lots of others as long as local laws will allow. We're spending the night at Wally's in Cresent City, Ca now.

Oh, yeah. Lowe's has free WiFi for customers with no password. I can usually get it just fine with my cell phone in the middle of the lot. So, a cantenna[1] should get you a good signal from the back of the lot.

[1]Google is your friend.

Does Lowes own the building (and hence the parking lot), or do they lease?

If they lease, does the landlord give a damn if people park there?

If they lease from some big real estate holding company, does the landlord even KNOW if people are parking there?

Does the local town have any laws against it?

If they do, do the cops VIGOROUSLY enforce them, or only act when somebody files a complaint?

A lot of variables, Grant.

Regards
John

Optimistic Paranoid said:
Does Lowes own the building (and hence the parking lot), or do they lease?