In the Planning Stage

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JustPlainJim

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

A little about me; I'm 44 years old and live in lower Michigan. I grew up in Elkhart Indiana (RV capitol of the world), so plenty of places to get parts for my van home project. I have a beautiful 18 year old daughter thats attending beauty school and on her way to a great start in life (she is my life).

I love to camp, fish, boating, anything to do with water. I love lighthouses and looking at the stars, planets and such through a telescope. My biggest hobby though is I'm an Amateur Radio (Ham) operator, and that is going to be figured in with my construction plans. I have a wonderful girlfriend of 3 years and hope she wants to share this adventuresome lifestyle with me in the near future.

I've been doing a lot of reading, research and watching a ton of youtube videos for almost a year now.

I have a plan and have time to get ready for my new start on life so to speak.

I was going to use Jim as my username but it was taken lol. If someone wants to come up with an abbreviation thats fine. I thought "JP" or "JPJ", just don't call me late for dinner..... :D

JPJ welcome to the group.
Nice to hear you say such nice things about your daughter.
I'm hanging out near the Lake Havasu, Quartzsite areas for the winter and have seen a few ham antennas......hard to hide them with a rv.
You can find lots of water access to the Colorado River.....not much white water with all the dams, but still worthwhile.

What are your plans? What is your rig? We love photos.

Welcome Jim.

Quartzsite has a Ham event here beginning Jan 19th. Maybe you can catch it next year in your travels.
Good luck with your van build.

:D Pics please :D