I want to be a nomad!

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aktraveler

Reaction score
Hi, everybody! 

I'm not sure what free-living nomads such as yourselves call a person like me, since I have just begun to research nomadic living. I live with my wife Lori and two of my three sons, Little Jerry who is 10 and Lance who is 25. Lance has had a rough go of things since his girlfriend passed around six months ago from a blood clot, and he's adjusting to life as a single dad.

I work as a broadcaster, and have done that pretty much all my professional life with little to show for it other than high blood pressure from the stress of it and the "dad bod" from the inactivity of it. The business has changed so much over the years that I really just don't enjoy it any more. 

I discovered that I have a love for traveling when I accepted the current job that I have here in Juneau, Alaska four years ago. I loaded up my truck with everything I could put on it and left Muscle Shoals and traveled across the country, camping or staying in hotels along the way. I really enjoyed that drive. Matter of fact, I enjoyed the drive and the adventure of getting here a whole lot more than I'm enjoying the job that awaited me at the end of the trip.

A few weeks ago, I began to notice Lori watching all of these RV videos on Youtube. One of them caught my attention, and now I can't think of anything except how I have to do this. I'd leave today if I could, but Winter is setting in and I need to save money and try to find a great deal on a rig to start out in. We're kind of stuck for now, I guess, but I have started socking back money already and hope to be able to buy a rig to start living in ASAP so that I can save even more. I'm hoping to be able to hit the Alaska Highway and head down into the lower 48 by October of 2018 if not sooner.