I have a VAN!

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CrazySister

Reaction score
My husband found a 1978 Ford van with a new engine, brakes, tires, and more. He got the price down and bartered a little. I thought it would be a long time til we found one. It is converted and needs just a few tweaks to make "our nest". Can not wait to go to the coast in it. We are still a ways from retirement ( I am 1/2 way retired and have summers off) but we are excited to live in it when we can and enjoy the simple/ joyful part of life... fishing, hiking, being together. I am on cloud nine.

Yay! I am so happy for you. Can you post pictures? I love all retro vehicles. 1978 is the year I graduated high school.

Good going!

We had a 75 E100 for 15 years and then sold it for more than we paid. I think I rebuilt or had rebuilt just about everything on it but the engine and you just couldn't kill that in line 300.

My father's first van was a 1975 E150 shorty cargo van. Had the side barn doors. The only major problem we had was the Twin I-beam system sometimes wears out and starts making a horrendous screeching noise. It had to be rebuilt. His '86 E-150 is standard (long) wheelbase and has sliding side door - it is my parts van now. I am watching for indications of this with my '88 conversion E-150. The Fourth and Fifth Gen vans went to a standard A-arm system.

GrantRobertson said:
Yay! I am so happy for you. Can you post pictures? I love all retro vehicles. 1978 is the year I graduated high school.