I have a strange gun question

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cathead

Reaction score
From a horrible experience I had last year... when a wild animal was severely injured.
I wished I had access to a gun to put this animal out of it's misery quickly.
I have no knowledge or experience with guns, but certainly can learn.
So.... is there a handgun that would do the job? for even a large animal?

Dispatching animals doesn't take much power if you can get right next to them, .22lr was used to dispatch cattle for decades.
Here in Colorado it's illegal to shoot big game(even in self defense or dispatching injured animals) with anything smaller than .25 caliber or that produces less than 550lb ft of energy at 50ft IIRC ruling out anything weaker than hot 357 mangum, nuclear 10mm and mild 460 rowland level loads.

The best thing to do in that situation is to call DoW, Game, Fish and Parks, or whoever is in charge of that in the state. Or better yet there's wildlife rescues across the country who will fix the animal up if it's fixable and put it down if it's not.

Thanks minimotos, I'll look up those you mentioned.

It would make sense to call those numbers if it happens again, only worry is that I'll be too far away for them to respond in a reasonable length of time.

first off if you have zero firearm experience, get some before getting a gun. don't put the cart before the horse. highdesertranger

highdesert, oh yes, I would get experience/training first for sure! If I do decide to get a gun.

Getting close to a wild animal, bad idea. A large wild animal, even worse. A injured large wild animal may seem like it's on it's last breath but get close enough to take it out with a 22 and you are likely to get a big surprise and possibly a world of hurt. Be careful.

Maybe I'll stick to the calling for assistance plan and hope it never happens again.