Humbled by Nature

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SternWake

Reaction score
I started surfing when I was 10.  I've been surfing for 34 years.  Today was close to being my last day breathing.

El Nino has been delivering  large back to back westerly swells.  My back  went out on me last month badly, for 10+ days, and I lost a bunch of physical conditioning, and confidence.  But One must get back up on the horse, even if that horse might be rabid.  I'm happy to be able to climb on a horse after that debilitating backpain episode.

Yesterday I paddled out with a friend I grew up surfing with, whom I'd not seen for quite some time, and was not sure I'd actually be able to punch through to the outside, as the waves were large and frequent and radiated pure energy to anybody with eyes ears and a simple grasp of physics.  It was just outside where I shared an oceanfront campsite with Jay and Margie and Bindie last November. I was doing underwater cartwheels just paddling out getting rolled and beatup, and totally winded once I finally did make it outside.  It was a bit windy and unruly and I only rode 2 waves successfully. Inbetweeners with a mere 10 to 12 foot face height and not the 15 foot faces which would occasionally roll over the whole lineup.  Really this does not even fall into the big wave category.  Waves over 15 feet are a whole different level of surfing, One I do not have the confidence or conditioning to confront, not in my 20's and certainly not in my 40's with an unwanted  spare tire around my middle.