How big of a battery do I need?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

paullad

Reaction score
I'm new to all this so have mercy please. I need to power my laptop for 15 hours max between charges. My laptop uses about 20 watts. Is my math correct? 15x20=300 watt hrs/12 volts=25 amp hrs x 2 (max 50% drain) = 50 amp hr  + (how much for inverter draw?) = X amp hr battery needed. Thanks.

is that going to be your only draw? no lights? radio? fan?

inverters inefficiencies depends on the inverter the better ones are better than 90% efficient my Xantrex claims 91%. my old cheap junk one was around 80%. some of your cheaper ones are lucky to be 70% efficient. some don't even tell you, they don't want you to know.

it always better to not run an inverter and to use a 12v adaptor.

highdesertranger

Thanks for that info hdr. Didn\'t know they made 12V adapters for laptops! Will look into that. I just looked it up and my Samlex is 87% efficient. I'll be part-timing in winter so fans won't be needed and lights will be solar.

Thanks but the question wasn't how many batteries but how big of a battery (amp hours). They come in all different sizes.

Elbear11 battery will be fine.

100AH agm or flooded. 50-75 amp lithium.

You on a budget?

"15x20=300 watt hrs/12 volts=25 amp hrs x 2 (max 50% drain) = 50 amp hr + (how much for inverter draw?) = X amp hr battery needed."

up to this point you're ok,

"15x20=300 watt hrs/12 volts=25 amp hrs"

here's where you made a mistake,

"x 2 (max 50% drain) = 50 amp hr "

the max 50% drain gets subtracted from a lead acid battery not added to the load. you could add some to the load for inefficiencies, a little buffer, cloudy days, etc.