Have cargo van, want to add a TT. Advice?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xNateX

Reaction score
Hello all.

I have a diesel promaster, extended length high roof 3500. It has suited me well until now - it fits all my toys and I can sleep in there too (in a hammock amongst said toys; dirtbike, scuba gear, so on and so forth).

I want to be more comfortable now - something that feels more like home. A shower. A/C. Refrigerator. And I'd rather just add a travel trailer instead of building out the cargo van. I would lose some mobility and gain the hassle of towing and that's ok.

My van can tow 5,100 pounds. There are plenty of used lance tt's that would work for me, and I may end up going that route. They are expensive though, and I just want something basic and comfortable while spending as little as possible.

Any recommendations?

Are you looking for advice on what type of TT to get?  

If not, it might help to be more specific.  You may get a LOT of advice that you weren't looking for.  

I can tell you this:  I've recently inherited a TT...it's old, but everything works.  I now have HOT RUNNING WATER. 
A fridge, and things I'm still getting used to.  For the sake of comfort, I recommend it. 

Good luck.

ps. My dogs said that they recommend a TT also. Lots more floor room.

Yes, what type of tt to get that is basic, comfortable, and low(er) cost.

My tow rating of 5,100 pounds is on the low side. I know Lance will work, and the all-aluminum Camplite Livin Lite tt's too. All expensive. I may resign myself to that fate, but many heads may well provide a better solution than my own.

The hot water and other luxuries sound enticing. I also have a cargo van and am getting a converted cargo trailer, but no hot water or shower. I may someday upgrade if I find a good price on a TT.