Ham radio - I'm W8BBS

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HarmonicaBruce

Reaction score
I'm a licensed amateur radio operator, W8BBS is my call sign. I haven't operated in a few years but will when I get a station installed in my new van. Do we have any other hams here? It's a great hobby. You can meet people over the radio, and they tend to be classy and helpful. It's nothing like CB radio, where everyone uses a fake name and no one knows anything about radio. Anyone can look up my call sign on the FCC database and find out my real name and where I live (i.e., have my mail sent). You have to pass a test to get your license, so hams are generally more knowledgeable than CB operators.

One bad thing about ham radio from a (parked) vehicle is that it's easy to run down your battery, as amateur transceivers can draw a lot of power (especially while transmitting). I've done that while sitting in my car in my parents driveway.

One of the reasons for amateur radio is to provide emergency communications. It could prove useful if one had some kind of emergency on the road.

Back when I was trucking over-the-road, alot of the drivers were switching over to HAM, for those very reasons. (not all the silly BS like on CB's)...not to mention the superior long range transmitting & receiving that HAM's have over CB's.

I did talk on sidebands quite a bit though.

I thought about getting into a HAM station pretty seriously mysself, and have a friend who's very serious about it...but then I quit trucking and pretty much lost interest. (one can have too many interests!!)

I could see getting into this later in life when/IF I slow down. :D