Ham Radio - aka Amatuer

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

offroad

Reaction score
I have a license for Ham Radio.&nbsp; Am looking at using 2 meters and 440 MHZ again.&nbsp; Or getting into digital communications with PSK31 or RTTY or some other kind of packet radio.&nbsp; Will be considering the HF bands too.<br /><br />Looking at prices of some HF radios and seeing $500 to the sky limit for prices.&nbsp; Looking at an Icom FT-817FD radio used price.<br /><br />2 meters is much less costly.<br /><br />Any other ham radio, digital experimentors here on the discussion board?&nbsp; doing the radio thing?

I'm also a ham radio operator. 2-meter &amp; 70 cm are the most popular bands for ham radio operators. I've have 2 dual band handhelds and a dual band mobile radio. All these radios are 2-meter/70cm.<br /><br />Since you're interested in doing&nbsp;RTTY (Radioteletype) and PSK31 (Phase Shift Keying, 31 Baud) I&nbsp;can only assume that you're licensed as a general or extra class operator.&nbsp;I'm currently a technician studying for my general class.<br /><br />I've had Yaesu&nbsp;HF radios before and $500.00&nbsp;isn't too unreasonable for an Icom FT-817FD radio. It all depends on the condition of the radio as well.<br /><br />I'm not as active as I used to be but I do check into the occasion local net or two.

<span style="font-family: courier new,courier;">I am also a licensed ham operator</span><span style="font-family: courier new,courier; font-size: small;">&nbsp;(KM&Oslash;I).&nbsp; I haven't been active for many&nbsp;years but am thinking about adding&nbsp;a 2 meter transceiver to the van...&nbsp; I used to be&nbsp;a CW nut back in the day.&nbsp; Last night I was watching a TV show where they played some Morse code and caught myself copying it.&nbsp; <br /><br />V.T.</span>