Fuel Can Recommendation

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oldwolf

Supporting Member
Reaction score
I searched but didn't find a thread on this topic.

What make 5-gallon fuel plastic fuel can is best suited, and has high durability, for storage in the rear of a (camping) mini-van? My thought is that 5 or 10 gallons of reserve is reasonable. At some point I will have a trailer hitch and perhaps a hitch cargo carrier where I could place them.

While we are discussing this topic, how many people carry reserve fuel, or am I just worrying over nothing?

Stay healthy everyone.

for plastic cans the Scepter military cans are the best unfortunately they don't sell new ones in the US any more. I heard you can get them in Canada. I just sold 2 of them on Craig's list for 75 bucks.

I have been using the metal NATO cans for about the last 5 years. IMO they are far superior and come in 20 Liter(L), 10L, and 5L. if you go with the NATO cans make sure you get real ones not the Chinese knock offs, there is a world of difference in the quality.

https://wavianusa.com/

https://lexingtoncontainercompanysonlinestore.mybigcommerce.com/jerry-fuel-can/

both of these links are authentic NATO cans not knockoffs.

highdesertranger

I would not recommend any gas can (metal or plastic) for storage inside a vehicle. I think they even have specific warnings about that. Since they are not a pressurized container (like propane), they would be subject to off gassing due to temperature changes. Propane at least settles to the floor, not so sure about gasoline vapors.