First Van Purchase

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey everyone!

New to the forum as I am just beginning to jump into the van life. I am planning on purchasing a van to live out of for a minimum of one year, working remotely and traveling across the U.S. I'm leaning towards a cargo van to be stealth and have a blank canvas to renovate. My budget is around $3,000-$5,000, although I'm leaning closer to the lower end to have enough money to renovate. 

I have been searching Craigslist for over a month now and have found several options but I always seem to have my doubts. Too many miles, too much rust, too many scratches/dents. Odds are I'm just looking for excuses as this is my first van purchase and I'm very hesitant. 

I have mainly been looking at the Ford E-series. I was wondering if anyone has had any experience with these? Here are a couple options of what I've been looking at:

https://baltimore.craigslist.org/cto/d/1997-ford-e250/6338840626.html

https://reading.craigslist.org/cto/d/2002-ford-e250-work-service/6345970354.html

I've done a ton of research but still can't seem to make a decision. I don't know a lot about vehicles in general, as I'm just beginning to learn, so I would greatly appreciate any advice, recommendations and if my concerns are legit. Happy to provide more details as far as what I'm looking for and my needs. 

Thanks!

Those look good! I agree, cheaper, the better. Easier to push it in the lake and  walk away, so to speak.

00u0u_4BPO3jBYxme_600x450.jpg

No one will suspect a thing, LoL!

Both of those look pretty good, but I did not know they ever made an E-250 with a 6 cylinder...I would not plan on pulling a large trailer with that one!