Electrical Sizing Question

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Evandude

Reaction score
Hello fellow van dwellers!

I have some questions regarding my electrical system and sizing it correctly. I'm completely new to doing this so I appreciate you bearing with me on answering these questions.

Valence 12V 40AH Battery
I have decided to go with used 12v Valence LiFeP04 Iron Magnesium Phosphate batteries. I have a total of 4 that each have 40AH when connected in parallel equal to 12v 150AH total. From what I've heard, these batteries can be drained below 50% unlike lead acid / AGM counterparts. With that said I will break down my system WH.

LIGHTS
I have 4 lights that each draw 3W per hour. A total of 12W that I've estimated I'll use for 5 hours a day. So, 12x5 = 60WH

MAXX FAN 5100K
I understand that the startup draws more watts but am only including the 55W draw for continuous power. I am factoring in 5 hours per day...
55x5 = 300WH

ARB 50 QT Fridge
Again, I understand startup draws more but am only including continuous power. Not quite sure how long most people keep their fridges running but I figured 10 hours throughout the day will be enough. 55x10 = 550WH 

The last part of my electrical system is 2 12v DC Socket adapters to charge phones etc, no more than for 1-2 hours. Does anyone have experience with how many watts this will draw?

If my math is right, thats a total of around 910WH

I have a 200W solar panel and am planning to use a battery isolator to assist the solar with charging the battery bank. So, does this mean that I can run my 12V system with a 1000 Watt Inverter? And if I am running a 12V system can I still use an inverter that is capable of plugging into shore?